ACS RPL Equivalent

Ron74

Hi all,

I am trying to meet the points for Aus migration.

I have work experience which I can match for Computer Network and Systems Engineer assessed by ACS.

But unfortunately my qualifications will not match with ICT criteria as per ACS.

I have 3 years full time Diploma completed in 1999 and 1 year full time MSc completed in 2006, which ACS does not accredit as ICT. I don't have a bachelors degree.

I've been employed at three different employers in three different countries since 1999 up to now related to same ANZCO job.

What possibilities are there for me to get points on my educations and work experience?

When ACS assess with RPL.. do they equal my qualifications as eaqual to bachelor's degree level and if they do.. can I use that to get 15 points at points test?

Did the ACS recognise the diploma? They did one of mines (and I wasn't even going to add it, as I have an honors degree too). So they may accept the diploma as having equivalence to an IT course. If you have no other IT-related qualifications then it's all down to work experience and whichever dates they set as being the date you can use to count your experience from.

As you may only have the diploma, I would presume they would knock off a number of years of the experience. I could only claim 3 yrs in the end, despite 6 years commercial experience. You may be able to claim 10 years since you have 15 all-in. All depends on what dates they'd recognise your work experience from.

Hi peterc1983,

Thanks for your reply.

I didn't apply yet for ACS assessment. But I'm pretty clear with their information provided in the website that my diploma will not be ICT equivalent. It is majoring Electroninc and Telecom.

My MSc is about 50% IT but again it is only a one year full time course. But ACS mentions in their website as below,

++++++++++

Non ICT Diploma or Higher

 If your degree is assessed with insufficient ICT content, you will require 6 years relevant work